Random Poem of the Day – V

Bed Time

by Michael Ball

Go to bed, my mother said,
and get yourself to sleep.

I went and tried and closed my eyes.

But the bed rocked like a raft
on a Mississippi bayou
and I fought off alligators and pirates
as I paddled to shore.

Go to bed, my mother said,
and get yourself to sleep.

I went and tried and closed my eyes.

But the ticking of the clock became a
countdown
and I captained a rocket ship
on a journey to Mars,
where I talked to green aliens with bulging eyes.

Go to bed, my mother said,
and get yourself to sleep.

I went and tried and closed my eyes.

But the wind outside sounded
like a howling dust storm
and the blankets became a survival tent
in the middle of a trackless desert
with only my secret flashlight to keep me company.

Go to bed, my mother said,
and get yourself to sleep.

I went and tried and closed my eyes.
And finally fell to sleep

And I dreamed… and dreamed… and dreamed.

Leave a Reply

